Participant of contest 2021

Alexei Tartakovsky

Aaron Chow

Alexei Tartakovsky

Called a “fantastic musician and pianist” by Martha Argerich and “truly exceptional…superb playing…a thoughtful and serious musician” by the New York Concert Review, pianist Alexei Tartakovsky is also laureate of Rolf and Brigitte Gardey International Piano Competition (USA), James Mottram International Piano Competition (UK), and won several prizes, e.g. the 2nd prize in the International Telekom Beethoven Competition Bonn (Germany) 2021, the 1st prize at the Heida Hermanns International Piano Competition (USA) the 1st prize at the 2011 New York Concert Artists International Competition the 1st Prize, Audience Prize, and Russian Prize at the 2012 San Jose International Competition (USA). his concert activity brought him to the USA, Canada, Mexico, Russia, Europe, China, Japan to venues include Amsterdam Concertgebouw, Warsaw Philharmonic, Yokohama Minato Mirai Hall, Carnegie Hall. Recordings from him were broadcasted on Dutch Radio 4, Polish Radio 2, Russian Radio Orpheus and New York's WQXR. Alexei Tartakovsky was Semifinalist at the 2015 Chopin International Piano Competition in Warsaw and von the french Prize at the 2016 Cleveland International Piano Competition. He studied with Matti Raekallio, Nina Lelchuk, Boris Slutsky, Boris Berman, Horacio Gutierrez and Richard Goode.


Alexei Tartakovsky First Round

  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Prelude and Fugue in B flat minor, BWV 867 
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: 32 Variations on an Original Theme in C minor, WoO 80 
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 31 in A flat major, op. 110

Alexei Tartakovsky Second Round

  • Franz Liszt: „Funérailles“ 
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 29 in B flat major, op. 106 („Hammerklavier“ Sonata)

Alexei Tartakovsky Semi-Final

  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 1 in F minor, op. 2/1 
  • Igor Stravinsky: „Trois mouvements de Pétrouchka“

Alexei Tartakovsky Chamber Music Final

  • Einojuhani Rautavaara: Passionale (2003)
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Trio in C minor, op. 1/3

Alexei Tartakovsky Orchestra Final

  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 4. op. 58