Participant of contest 2019

Shihyun Lee

Shihyun Lee

Shihyun Lee was born in South Korea in 1991. In the course of her career, she has already won several competitions: Already in 2017, she was awarded second prize at the Artur Schnabel Competition in Berlin (without awarding first prize), and in 2018 she won the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy University Competition, at which she also received the special prize for the best interpretation of the commissioned work („Études de dessin“ by Kit Armstrong). In 2019, she received third prize at the International Telekom Beethoven Competition Bonn as well as the special prize for the best interpretation of a contemporary work.

Shihyun Lee first completed her Bachelor's degree at Seoul National University with Prof. Hieyon Choi and Jinson Kim. Already in her home country, she was able to gain diverse stage experience with numerous orchestras. Since 2014, Shihyun Lee has been studying at the Berlin University of the Arts with Prof. Markus Groh, initially in the Master's programme and concert exam. From 2017 to 2020 she was supported with a scholarship by the Ad Infinitum Foundation and the DAAD and from 2021 to 2022 by the C. Bechstein Foundation. As part of Markus Groh's master class, Shihyun Lee was featured in the rbb broadcast series „Die Absolventen“.


Shihyun Lee First Round

  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Prelude and Fugue C-sharp major BWV 848 
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Six Variations on an own theme F major op. 34 
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 32 C minor op. 111

Shihyun Lee Second Round

  • Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Sonata No. 3 in B major, op. 106 and 
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 29 in B flat major, op. 106 („Hammerklavier“ Sonata)

Shihyun Lee Semi-Final

  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 6 F Major op. 10/2 
  • Paul Hindemith: Piano Sonata No. 3 B-flat Major

Shihyun Lee Chamber Music Final

  • Unsuk Chin (*1961): Nr. 4: Scalen und Nr. 5: Toccatta, from the Six Piano Etudes 
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Trio No. 4, D Major op. 70/1

Shihyun Lee Orchestra Final

  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5 E flat major, op. 73